Longest Day Ever…

Image

 I’m feeling grateful.  Though I am very tired.  Work was crazy, meetings, traffic and some one on one time with the big boss even though I felt about as articulate as a dead slug.  There was even a flood (no locusts, happily) that I watched out the window of our Mississauga project office.  Insane.  

But I’m happy I made it home in one piece, that I am sober even though I feel like shit, and that I still have a job that can stress me out.  Part of the reason I feel physically like shit is that I’m still only about 72 hours from my last drink/drunk.  And the hangovers do last at this age, oh yes.  Just my body’s way of saying “why are you trying to kill me”? Can you blame it really?

Meantime I see a friend post of FB that she just did one of those thing where you run and cycle halfway across the Scottish highlands (where she lives).  What a different circumstance.  I’m not comparing, or being hard on myself, but I bet the elation she feels at doing that is greater than any of my boozy reveries and for her there’s no remorse/shame/want to crawl in a hole and die for her. Just sayin’.

Anyway, did I mention I’m exhausted?  And I’ve got more work to do.  So signing out sober on day 3.

xo

About Tom Seeks Equanimity

Early 40s gay guy trying to make some changes in his life. Work in field of public transit as a project manager. Do some creative stuff too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

