Bon Weekend

ImageI know they say the the trick of a successful blog is to post regularly and I haven’t been doing that for the past week or so, so sorry!  Things have been going well though.  I had a great weekend just past, physically, mentally and spiritually.  Went to a party on Saturday night which I was a little stressed over as I have not been going out much in sobriety.  But it was fun.  I brought an asian noodle salad (it was a potluck) and some home-made iced tea.  I didn’t know a lot of people there but had a chance to chat with some people who I hadn’t seen in a long time.  It all felt very normal.  I drank my iced tea (good also with a  bit of ginger ale by the way), and was not bothered at all by the vodka, wine and beer that was about.  No one seemed to be drinking heavily, or noticed or cared what I was drinking.  I was home by 10.

Also got out on my bike both Friday and Saturday – the picture above was taken down at Sherbourne Common on Friday – spectacular day!  I also signed up for a teaching and training course at George Brown College that a friend of mine from the rooms is doing.  It looks interesting and feels like a way to ease myself back into thinking about career.  I have started to worry about that a little, as in “what am I going to do about money?” but I think if I am proactive, contact people, take positive steps that things will fall into place.  My sponsor cautioned about going ballistic on this front and I agree, but I do have to move on in life, in a balanced way.

Today is another beautiful day.  I am having lunch with my dad and sister today.  I think my Dad wanted to see me before he leaves on a trip out west.  I sort of had a bit of a meltdown with him last week about my future prospects during an angsty moment.  Anyway, it’s all good now. Really good, actually.  I am genuinely feeling hopeful, even though nothing in particular has changed.  It’s happiness in spite of circumstance – something I’ve never been good at.  After lunch will go to me studio for a bit then tonight, at my home group, there is a ten year anniversary.  Maybe one day it will be mine too.

 

About Tom Seeks Equanimity

Early 40s gay guy trying to make some changes in his life. Work in field of public transit as a project manager. Do some creative stuff too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

