I Have a New Space!

Warm Sundays in late March are amazing. Well this one is for me anyway. I just saw two friends, one of my oldest, and another that I would say is my newest. My old friend has agreed to rent an extra room in his lovely house in Kensington that I can use as a writing space over the summer, as well as the deck as a place to do painting. We’re going to get the deck all bedecked with urban foliage and get some people together for painting parties. I am very psyched. It’s not just the space but the sense of community. My friend also does meditation sits on a weekly basis, which is something I have done and am looking forward to getting back to. Another widget in the spiritual toolkit.

The other friend is one I met through my sobriety fellowship. I think we’re about the same age and come from similar circumstances. He texted me today and suggested a tea and so we meet and chatted for about an hour on a Bloor sidewalk bench. I really needed that today and looky here; it was provided. I hope we can hang out more and talk recovery – this is another aspect of community that is important to me. Just got another text from another friend from the rooms to go to a meeting. I can’t ask for a better demonstration that I am no longer alone. Of course looking at the very cute barista here at Starbucks there are ways that I do still feel alone, but I won’t figure that out today.

I am feeling vocationally and spiritually pretty good today. I could handle more 24 hours like this.

About Tom Seeks Equanimity

Early 40s gay guy trying to make some changes in his life. Work in field of public transit as a project manager. Do some creative stuff too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

