Hello world – I have a new blog!

Welcome to my new blog! I feel so unique! I’ve been meaning to get back to this blogging thing, after trying it a bit during a sojourn in another city, and while traveling in 2010, of course I wasn’t really sure what I had to add to the entropic discourse that is today’s blogosphere. That is, until recently, when I found myself with a little more existential clarity about life, perhaps prompted by the passing of a big birthday. First before I ramble on, a little about the title “3 Stages of Truth”. At the risk of sounding totally pretentious, it is from a quotation from a favourite philosopher, Arthur Schopenhauer:

“All truth passes through three stages; first it is ridiculed, then it is violently opposed, and finally it is accepted a self evident.”

Yeah that resonated with me, and seemed to fit the purpose of this blog, which is to be “consciousness-based”, i.e. my perceptions of myself, and my existence in these interesting times that I may indeed live in. So a barrel of laughs really. I hope it will be, anyway. It can’t be much worse than landing on my 40th birthday drunk, miserable and lamenting the lack of any meaning in my career or life generally. Probably not an original state to be in at that age, though I don’t proclaim it to be, rather I just want to put my experience out there. Oddly enough, while this somewhat confessional non-fiction type genre does seem to be growing in volume, there does seem to be a lack of writing that, to me anyway, is all that good or interesting. At the risk of seeming flattering to myself, I’ll leave it to anyone who reads this to let me know whether I’ve met that standard.

About Tom Seeks Equanimity

Early 40s gay guy trying to make some changes in his life. Work in field of public transit as a project manager. Do some creative stuff too.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello world – I have a new blog!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Heather B. Watts says:

    Thanks for sharin’! So good to hear other voices.

Leave a Reply

